Principal Investigator | Current Lab Members | Post Doctoral Fellow Alumni | Graduate Student Alumni

Scott Hultgren, Ph.D.

Scott Hultgren, Ph.D.

Helen L. Stoever Professor / Molecular Microbiology

For current CV, contact

Scott Hultgren is the Helen L. Stoever Professor of Molecular Microbiology (since 2000) and was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2011 and to the National Academy of Medicine in 2017.  He received his B.S. in Microbiology from Indiana University (1981) and his Ph.D. in Microbiology from Northwestern University (1987). He did post-doctoral work in the laboratory of Staffan Normark at the University of Umea, Sweden (1987-1989).  He became an Assistant Professor of Molecular Microbiology at Washington University School of Medicine in 1989, Associate Professor in 1995 and Professor in 1998. He was named the Director of the Center for Women’s Infectious Disease Research at Washington University School of Medicine in 2007. He has published over 180 peer-reviewed and 80 invited publications. Scott has mentored numerous individuals within and outside of his lab. Twenty-four Ph.D/MSTP students have graduated from his lab and more than 30 postdoctoral and medical fellows have trained with him.
  • University Scholar, Northwestern Univ., 1984-1987
  • Swedish Medical Research Council, Postdoctoral Research Fellowship, 1988-1989
  • Markey Young Investigator Faculty Award1990-1992
  • Chairman of Gordon Conference on Microbial Attachment and Signaling, 1997
  • Nobel Fellowship, 1997
  • Eli Lilly Award, 1998
  • St. Louis Innovator of the Year Award, 1998
  • Shipley Lecturer, Harvard Univ., 1998
  • NIH MERIT Award, 1999
  • Harry M. Rose Infectious Disease Lecturer, Columbia Univ., 2000
  • Henry Pinkerton Lecturer, St. Louis Univ., 2001
  • Coursemaster of the Year Award, Washington Univ., 2002
  • Fellow, American Society for Microbiology, 2003
  • Ippen-Ihler Lecturer, Texas A&M Univ. Health Science School of Medicine, 2004
  • John H. Erskine Lecturer in Infectious Diseases, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, 2005
  • Neal Groman Lecturer in Microbiology, Univ. of Washington, 2007
  • Academic Women’s Network Mentor of the Year, 2007
  • Distinguished Investigator Award, Washington Univ., 2010
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2010
  • Elected member of the National Academy of Sciences, 2011
  • John A. Lynch Lecture in the College of Science, Notre Dame University, 2014
  • Akagi Lecture, Molecular Biosciences, University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS, 2014
  • Luminary, College of Arts and Sciences, University of Indiana, Bloomington, 2014
  • 2nd Century Award, Washington University School of Medicine, 2014
  • Co-Chair of Annual NIH Molecular and Integrative Signal Transduction (MIST) Meeting, Washington University School of Medicine, 2015
  • Elected member of the National Academy of Medicine, 2017
  • Co-Chair of the Covid-19: Scientific Advances and its Impact on Women’s Health Online Symposium, 2020
  • Fellow, National Academy of Inventors, 2020

See Scott’s profile with the inaugural PNAS article